DIY Liquid Castile Soap From Castile Bar Soap

Standard

I recently searched for ways to make liquid Castile soap to save money since the stuff on Amazon is a little out of my price range. I found this super easy recipe from a blogger on another site. Here is the url for her recipe if you want to look at hers: http://meetalabama.blogspot.com/2012/03/how-to-make-liquid-castile-soap-from.html

You can easily just copy and paste the url to view her recipe but I will also post it here. I just wanted to give credit where credit was due. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t tried the recipe yet, but I intend to once my batch of body wash is out. Anyway, here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 4 oz bar of Castile Soap (some Wal-Marts don’t carry Castile soap, but you can find it at places like Hobby Lobby or a whole foods store)

6 cups water (right from the tap!)

1 TBS glycerine (I found mine at Wal-Mart, but you might be able to find this at whole foods stores or Hobby Lobby as well)

Directions:

1. Grate the soap with a cheese grater. Note: as with any soap, the smaller you grate the soap, the quicker it will dissolve. Remember to wear a face mask of some sort because the soap particles may float in the air, and it kind of sucks to inhale them. I learned that the hard way. LOL!

2. Pour the water into a sauce pan and put on low heat. Make sure the soap is completely dissolved, otherwise it may look somewhat chunky and will clog the container you use. Always remember to watch the mix so it doesn’t boil over!

3. Add the glycerine. Once dissolved, you can either transfer it to a jar, or a pump soap dispenser. I would think the latter would be easier, even though the original poster of this recipe suggested a jar. I think it would just be a lot less mess.You can also use essential oils in this recipe.

And you’re done! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Note: There are recipes to make Castile soap from scratch as well. I will have more on that at a later date maybe. No promises, but I’ll try!

A bonus to this is that Castile soap does not use animal fats as an emollient. πŸ˜€

Β 

2 responses »

  1. Oh wow! This is very helpful, because I know I sometimes spend alot of money buying liquid soap, it just goes so fast. I definitely will be trying this πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

