Aside

I have a confession to make. This is actually my first DIY project, but I do have TONS of recipes that I want to try out! This first project was some homemade hand soap/body wash. I will post the recipe as well as the link to the original website where I got it from. For my batch I used some really generic literally no name soap that some volunteers gave me last year after my house was destroyed by a tornado, but I really don’t suggest using it. If you’re going to use this recipe, I would recommend going with Yardley bar soap like the lady who I got the recipe off of. Mine just ended up looking really weird, but still useable so far! Anyway, I will go ahead and post the recipe!

Ingredients:

1 cup soap flakes (one bar yields a little over 1.5 cups, so I stored the rest of my soap in an air tight container)

10 cups water

1 TBS glycerine (you can either get this at your local drug store, or by the pharmacy at Wal-Mart, where I got mine)

Equipment:

cheese grater

a large pot

measuring cup and spoons

spatula for stirring

a soap container with a hand pump

a container to store the excess soap

funnel

Directions:

1. Grate the soap.

Just an FYI, if you haven’t figured out from my first paragraph, the soap is kind of a wild card because of quality and ingredients. Also, the grated soap will look like Parmesan. As tasty as it looks, I wouldn’t suggest eating it. 😉 lol

avoid this soap for homemade liquid hand soap/body wash. It is, however, good by itself if you like bar soap

This is the soap that I used. I wouldn’t suggest using it. Like I said, my soap looks kind of weird and lumpy, even after I tried to break it up. Oh well, live and learn right? I would suggest using Yardley like the original poster did. Hers looks so much prettier than mine! lol

2. In a large pot, combine your ingredients. Turn on your stove to medium-low heat until soap dissolves. This takes around 2 minutes.

3. Let cool completely. Once it’s cooled, pour soap into a container with the funnel! Enjoy, and hopefully you do a better job at this one than I did! 🙂

As promised, here is the link to the original recipe:

http://www.savvyhousekeeping.com/how-to-turn-a-bar-of-soap-into-liquid-hand-soap/

EDIT 5/30/2012: I looked at my body wash again today, just for S&G’s I guess, and it looks a lot more like the body wash in the original recipe now. *whew!* If you want a good lather, I would suggest using a dispenser for foaming soap. But if you don’t use that, don’t worry if it’s not lathering, it’s still doing its job! 🙂

This is what my body wash looked like while it was in the pot cooling.

First Post and DIY Liquid Hand Soap/Body Wash!!

8 responses »

  1. Hi! Thank you for commenting on my Blog regarding soap making. I have only made a few batches of soap, but the recipe which provides the most suds and creaminess is this recipe:

    750 grams (26.46 oz) coconut oil
    700 grams (26.69) olive oil
    900 grams (31.75 oz) shortening
    342 grams (12 oz) lye dissolved in
    650 grams (22.93 oz) distilled or deionized water

    Just before the “trace” part of the recipe I add 10-15 drops of an essential oil (usually Tea Tree Oil) with 1.25 mL of ground cinnamon or ground turmeric for colouring. The cinnamon gives a pleasant exfoliant factor.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 I’m not sure where I would get lye around here, maybe there will be some at the whole foods store, I’m not sure. Like you said in your post from earlier (I think it was yesterday maybe), lye would be VERY expensive to have shipped…

  2. Very cool post, cool blog all together. I have looked at making soap and thought it would be interesting to experiment with but procrastinated because I’m not quite sure about forming it into a bar. Now I can turn it into liquid! Awesome! I am totally following your blog.
    PS I found you from a comment on topiclessbar.

  3. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide something again and aid others such as you aided me.

Leave a Reply

