Barley Hoppin’ John

Standard

Ok, this doesn’t really have as much to do with being cost effective as it has to do with eating healthy. Last Sunday I got a recipe called “Barley Hoppin’ John” from eatingwell.com. I made it this Sunday for my in-law’s and my 9 yr old nephew, and they absolutely LOVED it. It’s a vegetarian dish (we’re normally meat eaters, but I figured it would be good to go meatless one day a week) that is based off of the recipe for “Hoppin’ John” which, instead of barley, it uses oats.

At first I thought that it wasn’t going to be as good because of the black eyed peas, since I didn’t like them when I had them in a different recipe months and months ago. But it was delicious, and the whole family loved it! Well, my husband didn’t get to try it because he was at work and everyone wanted seconds. ^_^ I am going to post the recipe, and I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we did!

Image

(This picture is from eatingwell.com, and I do not claim it as my own work.)

BARLEY HOPPIN’ JOHN

Ingredients:

1 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 small red bell pepper, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 14 oz can of veggie broth

1 cup quick cooking barley

1 TBS chopped fresh thyme, or 1 tsp dried thyme

2 tsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper

1/4 tsp salt

2 15 oz cans of black eyed peas, rinsed

Preparation:

1. Heat oil in large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper and celery. Cook until the veggies soften, about 3-4 mins.

2. Add garlic, cook one min.

3. Add broth, barley, thyme, lemon juice, crushed red pepper, and salt. Bring to a boil.

4. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until the barley is done. That will take about 15-20 mins.

5. Remove from heat, stir in black eyed peas, and let sit for 5 mins. Serve hot.

Nutrition:

Per serving: 320 cal, 5 g fat (1 g sat, 3 g mono), 0 mg cholesterol, 58 g carbohydrates, 0 g added sugars, 12 g protein, 11 g fiber, 677 mg sodium, 529 mg potassium.

Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Yummy or at least it looks yummy and sounds good too. I love barley – it’s my grandmother’s fault: when we were kids she fed us all kinds of “weird” things. Thank goodness! I have thought about going meatless for at least 2 days a week (I like having big goals that I typically only succeed partially at) but have not convinced my husband to yet.
    Keep doing a great blog and keep sharing your tips *they are the bonuses!

    • I was actually kind of sneaky about it. I didn’t tell them I was going meatless on Sundays until I actually started doing it. They don’t seem to mind though. My mother-in-law actually asked for a copy of this recipe for when my husband move into the new house. 🙂 Thanks for reading the blog too!

Leave a Reply

